How limiting is a 20ga. really?

RhinoRush

Company Veteran
Banned
Reaction score
I'm gong back and forth between a 12 and 20ga.

Here in Canada, it's hard to hunt deer with a shotgun at all. Lots of regs it seems.

So what would I realistically need a 12ga. for? It seems a 20ga. will get the job done for anything else.

I'm a total noob. Just passed my PAL course yesterday, so any and all advice is welcome.

My dad has both and when he brings the shotgun out for pest control (starlings, woodpeckers, coyotes) he brings out his 20 gauge.

When he used to go duck hunting it was whichever he felt like using. His Model 12 with 3 shots or his Browning sidebyside.

He usually went the Model 12 for the extra shot.

Here in Canada, it's hard to hunt deer with a shotgun at all. Lots of regs it seems.

So what would I realistically need a 12ga. for? It seems a 20ga. will get the job done for anything else.

I'm a total noob. Just passed my PAL course yesterday, so any and all advice is welcome.

What do you intend on hunting?

Should be enough for even Geese but you need to really pattern and choose your loads more carefully.

At minimum for large fowl I'd say steel #4.

If you really want to be sure get some hevi-shot #2, 3 or 4 or some Hevi-metal #2, 3 or 4. These loads are much more expensive but will give you a much more forgiving/lethal load.

IMO, there isn't a great difference between 12 and 20 gauge. The 20 gauge ammo will be more expensive (at least it is in my area) without adding any real benefits. 12 gauge shells come in a wider variety of shot types. If you plan on shooting birds I would recommend the 12 gauge because you can get 3" and 3.5" shells that can reach higher elevations. If you're big game hunting it really won't make a difference. I would get the 12 gauge, but a 20 gauge will most likely do everything you'll need it to.

So it sounds like the 12 is the way to go. The shells are certainly easier to find here, but not necessarily cheaper.