Cop who slaughtered Eric Garner sues NYPD

Alright, I see your points even if I disagree with you. Murder, to me indicates premeditation and intent. However, as I'm no lawyer let's get some professional opinions in here.
@Trotsky @panamaican @Quipling

Murder or not?

Just to be clear, I'm not even defending the cop not do It think he should get his job back. My interest here is establishing a baseline as it comes to word usage so we're all on the same page when communicating. I'm open to correction, in other words.

The Merchant has it right. Deliberation is not a requirement for murder. It (or premeditation or other words depending on jurisdiction) is only required for first degree murder or the like.

This guy would not be likely to get convicted of murder in either case. But, regardless, words can have separate meanings colloquially, legally, and across cultures and legal systems. For instance, "rape" is defined differently in different states and, in one, might not apply in cases of non-forcible or non-aggravated intercourse, like with a sleeping person, an invalid, or a child. Yet, I dare say you wouldn't pop into a thread about a guy banging kids and say "well, actually, that's only deviant sexual assault, not rape." So it comes off as pedantry tbh.

The Merchant has it right. Deliberation is not a requirement for murder. It (or premeditation or other words depending on jurisdiction) is only required for first degree murder or the like.