Need a new laptop - any recs?

ArmenianAssasin

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
I’ve been using a MacBook for the past 8 years and am pretty happy with it - unfortunately a portion of the laptop stopped working recently

I basically just use it for advertising for work, sherdog, and basic web surfing so don’t need anything too fancy for gaming or something

Any recs on which model to buy and where is the best place to purchase from ?

hp envy at costco... decent enough specs for your basic needs

although hp is having a back to school sale right now so you might want to check that

the acer swift 3 or 5 is also pretty cheap alternative

i can't stand lenovos

Last edited:
Dell XPS 17 2020 is the right choice for designers. Excellent, bright, color accurate screens that can go up to 4k. Premium build quality and even has optional GPU power if you want.
Looks sexy af too:
mchin_181005_4093_0001.0.jpg

I personally own a Razer Blade 15 and Eluktronics MAG15. Both are great for design and play but the XPS 17 I posted before is a better device for design work.

Get extended warranty.

I bought a laptop which crapped out on me shortly after a year and I only had the 1 year manufacturers guarantee.

I’ve been using a MacBook for the past 8 years and am pretty happy with it - unfortunately a portion of the laptop stopped working recently

I basically just use it for advertising for work, sherdog, and basic web surfing so don’t need anything too fancy for gaming or something

Currently using an ASUS Core I5 laptop, which I take outdoors a lot. Even after dropping it, on concrete ground, it works fine ; it was not on when I dropped it though.

Try and get one with a new Ryzen Apu .. Amd are killing it for production work at the minute.