Economy As solar capacity grows, some of America's most productive farmland is at risk

I am no expert but I think a large part of the issue is the way erosion can affect surrounding properties and waterways.

Indeed, but that's an issue with most forms of flat crop cultivation, i don't know if there has been changes in how things are done in America, but growing corn involves the land being laid bare to the elements for most of the time.

If erosion is an issue soil can be stabilized with a anti-erosion mesh which can be left in place since there is no need to plow the land every season.

I don't know what all the fuss is about. "You can just go to the grocery store and buy all the food you want ". Just ask the purple hairs.

Weird, because insane amounts of corn is turned into fuel which is burned in big ass trucks, and commercial farming requires a lot of energy to be made.

So no energy = no growing food eitherway.

And this isn't even taking into account unsustainability of pumping geological groundwater.

Weird, because insane amounts of corn is turned into fuel which is burned in big ass trucks, and commercial farming requires a lot of energy to be made.

So no energy = no growing food eitherway.

And this isn't even taking into account unsustainability of pumping geological groundwater.

Do you think they actually have any idea of any of that.

Do you think they actually have any idea of any of that.

Nope, but neither do you it seems, because anyone who thinks that solar farms are a threat to food production is just grasping at straws.

Water, Energy and non-renewable fertilizers are going to be the things that end industrial agriculture, not some dudes renting land to put solar panels.

Nope, but neither do you it seems, because anyone who thinks that solar farms are a threat to food production is just grasping at straws.