Best mma gym for amateur fighters en USA

Rodolfo Herrera

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi, I am from Mexico city and I am planning to train in the USA for a while, I have 2 years experience in bjj and 1 year in muay thai, my bjj is pretty solid but I wanna know wich is the best mma gym for amateurs fighters, I have been reaserching and ATT and Jackson MMA looked pretty solid, what do you think or are better options?

Revolution dojo's pretty good. Teammate of mine competed against them and they were tough cats from what I've seen.

I've heard good things about The Cellar

I don't have any suggestions other than I'd be cautious of big name famous gyms. I've heard some of them focus heavily on their pro fighter prospects or successes and the rest of the guys get just regular ol' MMA training from random coaches for too much money. It's probably at least worth researching, maybe you can talk to some guys that train there.

AMC in Seattle would be my first choice for an amateur learning the correct way to train and learn techniques

Last edited:
Gracie Barra in Portland, OR. Come on down and train with them and you can work your boxing with me and mine at the gym i work/train at

It's very hard to say. Reason being those big name gyms have tons of sparring partners but your a big fish in a little pond. It's very hard to get individual attention which is part of the reason why these guys are so fundamentally flawed.

Smaller gyms might be better starting out unless your getting tons of private lessons at the big gym. Just to give you an example, i train at a smaller gym but get basically a semi private every morning session since usually the class is tops 5 people total. I crosstrain at the big mma gym in my city that has a handful of legacy/ufc fighters and there striking really isn't much better than mine yet they've been professional anywhere from 5-7 years....... (they lack alot of fundamental and try to get by on athletic ability to compensate).