[Boxing Bag Gloves] Advantages and disadvantages of different weights (oz)

guillaumesmith

White Belt
Reaction score
Sherdog.net, hello

This is my first thread and I am happy to share one of my passions with you.
In advance, I beg you to excuse my English. I do my best and hopefully get better with you.

principle

Here we give our opinions and arguments on the various advantages and disadvantages of weight (oz) gloves for bag work.

I propose some criteria for the debate:

• weight and experience of the practitioner: increments batamweight to heavyweight; beginner, amateur, confirmed, professional
  • work sought: stamina, technique, speed
  • gloves classic or gel
  • construction, protection, comfort

my situation

Currently looking for the ideal pair of "bag gloves", i'm an amateur featherweight of 150 lb and 5'9"

To me their has always been too much scientific explanations or long winded explanations on this topic. Anyone that has ever boxed more than likely spends more time on the heavy bag with a pair of bag mitts, or at least prior to the big bag glove boom of the late 2000's where better equipment is now available. I always thought of it like this. Speed is built by condition, and using a lighter glove for me with more repetitions on the bag has always increased this. I use a 10 oz or 12 oz for speed. If I want to bang away for power (this is more my style and has always been) I use no less than the 14 oz or 16 oz glove. As you get older your thin gets thinner, and a 16 oz glove becomes a necessity for some of us. The heavier glove has never improved my speed. Only built endurance and strength in my forearms and biceps. On a side note nothing sounds better than snapping the bag though with a 12 oz pair of grants or 16 oz pair of Cleto Reyes gloves. They make hooks bagasmic.

amateur featherweight of 150 lb and 5'9"
i'm puzzled

but anyway go for 14oz. Offers good protection, Competition gloves will feel quite light.