Boxing for Kickboxing... who should I replicate?

SalvadorAllende

Titanium Belt
@Titanium
Reaction score
Hello guys,

I have trained Kickboxing (and MT to a lesser exent) in and out for a lot of years. Now I have been practicing Kickboxing for like 3 months straight 3x at week and now Im also adding boxing twice a week to refine my hands (I can box but they could use some work).

My primary interest is Kickboxing and I my plan is use boxing as a comlement... so I dont see much value in developing (for example) a good Philly Shell or some style like that because it does not work that good.

Who are the boxers whose styles you would recommend me to watch and try to replicate?

FWIW Im 5`8, 135lbs and my KB style is more like dutch oriented (can also fight from Thai and Karate stance but I dont love it).

Hello guys,

I have trained Kickboxing (and MT to a lesser exent) in and out for a lot of years. Now I have been practicing Kickboxing for like 3 months straight 3x at week and now Im also adding boxing twice a week to refine my hands (I can box but they could use some work).

My primary interest is Kickboxing and I my plan is use boxing as a comlement... so I dont see much value in developing (for example) a good Philly Shell or some style like that because it does not work that good.

Who are the boxers whose styles you would recommend me to watch and try to replicate?

FWIW Im 5`8, 135lbs and my KB style is more like dutch oriented (can also fight from Thai and Karate stance but I dont love it).

Look up nieky holzken, robin van roosmalen, and serhiy adamchuck. You shouldn't be looking at boxers who box, but boxers who transition to muay thai or kickboxing

Somrak Kamsing would disagree.

Samart had some of the best boxing of any Thai fighter I have ever seen.
Arguello had a reasonably upright style that would transtate to kickboxing.

Pretosyan. You would have to translate stuff if you're not a southpaw