Coaches that sucks at holding mitts/pads

kenpeters8

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
What's your opinion on coaches that sucks at holding mitts/pads?

I know that experienced coaches here on the forums have expressed the sentiment that you don't need to use padwork to make a good fighter and that they mostly do other things.

I have no real opinion myself, because I'm not very experienced, but I'm interested in the topic.

I think mitts is important, because it is a drill with a live person in front of you. Now you're following a target, being wary of incoming shots, trying to cut off the angle, etc.

Each coach has the way they do mitts. They shouldn't too much suck, I've even done mitts before, the basics aren't that hard to call out. Only thing I've experienced are different methods.

How do they suck? Can you provide an example?

many more things can be supplemented into training, but the staples for MT fight training would be, pads, clinch, spar.

students shouldnt be holding pads, coaches should be holding pads. If your coach doesnt know how to hold pads as said previously, probably not much of a coach. Even the coaches here who are not big believers on padwork, still know how to do it.

many more things can be supplemented into training, but the staples for MT fight training would be, pads, clinch, spar.

students shouldnt be holding pads, coaches should be holding pads. If your coach doesnt know how to hold pads as said previously, probably not much of a coach. Even the coaches here who are not big believers on padwork, still know how to do it.
There are coaches that got older, and have some old injuries to the point where it's too painful for them to hold pads. Their pad holding skills starts to suck bad because of it. I've seen a handful of head coaches that doesn't hold pads anymore, they just have an assistant to do it. But at fight night, they're the main person talking to their fighter.

I would add heavy bag and shadow for a complete camp for me.