Do you fix your own car?

TheWobbler

Black Belt
@Black
Reaction score
I have no mechanical experience but with the amount of videos on youtube I will now try do most things on my car myself.

I was to scared to try anything but the amount of money garages charge these days is ridiculous. The mark up on parts is shocking and they put the cheapest brands in.

The last straw was when they tried to charge me over 300 quid for brake pads and discs. So I watched a video and did them my self. All went well and I couldnt believe how simple it was to do.

Last week I replaced the combination stalk as the wipers had stopped working.

Just failed my MOT today, 2 suspension arms need replaced. Out of curiosity I asked the garage to price up the work and they wanted £380. Got the parts my self for £130 and am going to attempt them tomorrow.

Yes I sound poor, but I refuse to give away money.

Not too long ago, I had a flat, and had to remove, and then install the donut. I have replaced light headlights, windshield wipers, and batteries.

When I was poor I used to do my own oil changes and brake pads. Now I just pay for it cause it's too much of a pain. I still do simple things like batteries, wiper blades....etc

I do the same TS. I could afford to have it done but I can't tolerate getting ripped off.

I've done belts, brakes, o2 sensors, lights, and wheel bearings.

Had a guy at work do timing belt and water pump....charged me 250, shop would charge a grand.

Very simple stuff yes, but I was spoiled for along time as one of my close friend (that we I also lived with for 2 years) is a mechanic and would just do everything for me. Often times I would just pay for the price of the parts, which were very good at his cost. Also since we have 'newer' Honda's we haven't had to do anything significant.

I do the same TS. I could afford to have it done but I can't tolerate getting ripped off.

I've done belts, brakes, o2 sensors, lights, and wheel bearings.