Favorite Set-ups for Body Punches?

ArtemV

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
Okay, so I went to my boxing gym on friday and sparred a little, but each time I would try and go to the body, I would be super lazy(or really slow) and get jabbed (or something else) in the face each time, lol.

I know I was feeling a little sluggish, but how do you suggest to target the body (in boxing only)? Use more jabs, feint more?

I am a fan of the lead right to the body and body hooks, too, but I focus a lot on moving in and out, trying to use effective footwork and drawing out attacks, rather than standing still, slipping and in a close range etc. But what are your favorite ways of getting there?

Thoughts?

I do more Muay Thai ham boxing but I try to time the jab and slip it and throw a shovel hook sometimes I also just set it up with a double jab cross then I hook the liver but I’m pretty new at this so I’m a work in progress lol

It's easiest for most when the other guy is cornered and shelling up from combos to the head. That's when you'll see it most

There are other times but I'm not an expert in that area

Some of my favourites, assuming orthodox vs. orthodox:
  • Tap left hook to the head, rip left hook to the body. (I use this a lot, have confidence in it and have successfully done it on all types of guys bigger or smaller than me so it's something that just suits my style and build)
  • Mix up jabs to the head and body, then start feinting either up or down and commit to the opposite. When they get sensitive to your feints, feint upstairs and jab to the stomach. Also straight up just looking them in the eyes and jabbing to the stomach.
  • Double jab, and right hook to the body.
And a simple combination rule of thumb you can try is doing 3 punches that follow this simple rule: head, body, head.