From White To Blue: What I Look For In Promotion

These are the exact same principles involved in chess which I'm learning right now. I'm an amateur, but like 5 times better than I was a month ago. Same basic moves, just with better anticipation and recognition, through repetition and practise. Also, I want to start jiu Jitsu this month once vacation starts. Great article!

I'm probably going to get flamed for this, but these two things seem contradictory:

"He is 5’4” and 130 pounds..."

"If a big, strong guy who weighed 250 pounds came to train, I would expect him to be able to deflect the weight, power and aggression and keep himself safe. He might not be able to win, but neither should he lose."

I honestly think a 250 pound noob off the street could dominate a 5'4 130 pound blue belt. If you told the noob, "I want you to fuck him up as hard as you can" then I think the 250 pounder could easily smash the hell out of a 5'4 130 pound blue belt in a minute. Even if the 250 pounder is out of shape and gasses. Isn't it the Gracies themselves that say every 40 pounds equals a belt level? So essentially it's a 130 pound blue belt versus a 250 pound purple/brown belt?

Quite honestly, I think this is where BJJ breaks down. In practice, you take two people within 20 pounds of each other the higher belt is going to win. But once you put a smaller guy versus a bigger guy on the street with punches then I think a lot of the smaller person's tactics and techniques break down.

Disclaimer: Nothing against the thread starter. Just a comment. Good article. Please don't omoplata me.

I'm probably going to get flamed for this, but these two things seem contradictory:

"If a big, strong guy who weighed 250 pounds came to train, I would expect him to be able to deflect the weight, power and aggression and keep himself safe. He might not be able to win, but neither should he lose."