Guitar Practice Thread

Blackjack

Black Belt
@Black
Reaction score
How many hours a week and days a week do you work on technique, specifically: Alternate picking, economy picking, and sweep picking?

I play about 3 days a week and about 2 hours a day, so about 6 hours a week on those three things. The majority of my practice is spent working on creativity - writing songs. That's about another 9 hours week.

How many hours a week and days a week do you work on technique, specifically: Alternate picking, economy picking, and sweep picking?

I play about 3 days a week and about 2 hours a day, so about 6 hours a week on those three things. The majority of my practice is spent working on creativity - writing songs. That's about another 9 hours week.
yeah putting alot of time in definitely helps. I'm not familiar with economy picking. What is it?

I've been playing for almost 15 years now.

I spent a long time working on all the things you mentioned. I'm pretty good at sweep picking, alternate picking through scales or fast riffs/licks, economy picking I never really got too good at, but I can do it a little when it suits the situation.

I practiced anywhere form 2-6 hours a day. Depended on the day.

For a long time all I really focused on was shred. Yngwie(pieces of his tunes I know better than any other guitar player), Gilbert, Petrucci, Friedman, etc. It was my passion to become good enough to play the stuff they wrote.

Lately I just play for fun and I work more on learning how to actually play and improvise in key and maybe even write a bit of my own, so my chops aren't as sharp as they could be. I still put a bit of practice on problem areas where I know I can improve, but outside of doing Hybrid Picking, or some crazy 8 finger tapping, there's not much I havnt developed so I don't feel the need to grind away like I used to.

There's still so much I don't know that I need to get a handle on.