Help with kickboxing from a Taekwondo background.

KwonFight1995

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hello all, I've been training in ETC taekwondo for the past 16 years, current 3rd Dan instructor but recently started training at American Top Team in kickboxing, and BJJ.

one thing I'm having a lot of problems is my hands, as taekwondo is mainly kicks, it's been amazing having some of the best kicks in the gym and landing great strikes in spatring. But my hands are lacking big time.

MY question is, has any of you transitioned from Taekwondo to kickboxing/MMA? And did you have difficulties at first adapting to the new fight style? I'm sure I will get there as I've only been training for a month, but after getting hands flying across my face I'm eager to see if anyone has any tips that has been in a similar situation.

I am in the opposite situation. My primary art is MT. But at one point
I decided to cross train in TKD ITF, mostly to level up my speed and agility.

I don't know what are the rules in ETC TKD, but from my experience the biggest challenge is for you to understand and accept the different mentality of the sports.
Mostly that you are no longer trying to "steal" points, but you are looking to hurt your opponent.
-Speed vs power is in a different percentage.
-Striking distances are different.
-Stance is different for specific reasons. (Kicks to the closed side of the body and low kicks are some of them)
-Close ring vs open space.
-Punches, long combos.
-Strategy on the long term of a fight... Hurt your opponent in a specific place to make him harder for him to fight, tire him, setting traps for later in the fight... Those things are not really present in TKD.

There are two ways in my opinion for you to go...
Either keep your TKD as a primary base, and use some changes for KB, or try to wipe the slate clean, and try to learn proper KB from the start.