Inspiring fights to watch?

beat...people...up?

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
Yes, I have a Flograppling subscription.

My first comp is this weekend and I want some matches to watch to get in the mood and distract myself from nerves. I trust this forum to have good recs. Gi matches preferred.

I found last weekend's Gianni Grippo vs. Paulo Miyao match at Kasai Pro to be quite inspiring. Also Roger Gracie vs Buchecha. Craig Jones vs. Leandro Lo. Felipe Pena vs Gordon Ryan.

If you have Flo and are nervous about your own competition, then you may enjoy watching the Yuri Simoes mini-documentary from the last ADCC. It may surprise you how fragile Yuri was behind-the-scenes, and how much his coach Caio Terra helped him to perform at his best.

I found last weekend's Gianni Grippo vs. Paulo Miyao match at Kasai Pro to be quite inspiring. Also Roger Gracie vs Buchecha. Craig Jones vs. Leandro Lo. Felipe Pena vs Gordon Ryan.

If you have Flo and are nervous about your own competition, then you may enjoy watching the Yuri Simoes mini-documentary from the last ADCC. It may surprise you how fragile Yuri was behind-the-scenes, and how much his coach Caio Terra helped him to perform at his best.

I watched the whole Kasai Pro already (my girlfriend is very tolerant of my obsessions and watched it with me on the computer) and I did love seeing the Grippo/Miyao matchup--as well as Canuto vs. Rocha rematch--but I definitely didn't catch the Yuri Simoes mini-doc. Wow that was intense and incredible. Really touching. Dang.

You could also watch some White belt matches on youtube. This way you can see how.. Not bad, but lacking in technique first comp matches are. Its mostly a lot of pulling and trying to get points and then a bit of stalling.