Is it worth is for females to pursue kickboxing?

Estelita Scott

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I started training for kickboxing last year October. I've done two local tournaments.

The problem is that as a female and flyweight, it's hard to find opponents.

I live in Africa.

Is there a career for me in this or not?

Should I rather just go straight into other areas in the industry?

Should I just accept that this is just a hobby?

I know nothing about a Kickboxing scene in Africa, so I'd imagine if you wanted to make a career out of it you would need to travel abroad. Still, even at the peak level for women's Kickboxing I don't believe it pays incredibly well so you would have to do it out of passion. You may be better off going the MMA route, or plan to transition into it. A lot of women Kickboxers have made it into the UFC.

I think there's a lot of money to be made at WMMA and the same can't be said about women's kickboxing, and considering the WMMA skill level when it comes to striking, it's probably easier to make money as a woman.
If you're really athletic, you have a enormous advantage already.

So it really depends on how you view grappling as a whole.

I also feel like the best idea is to talk with female fighters themselves, kickboxers, to see what is their opinion, maybe with some smaller promoters.

Unless you are the best of the best, you need to have full-time/part-time jobs like teaching classes/being instagram models.
Even if you are really talented, you need to also be marketable for promoters to push you due to the decentralised nature of the sport.
Even in WMMA, the fighters outside UFC need to do other jobs to make a living.

But I mean, if you are really passionate about it then talk to people in the industry like heads of your gym or promoters in your area and ask their opinions.