Just got my purple

monsieur_jj

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Hooray! i just got my purple last Nov 24, it was a great feeling but after two weeks i feel more pressure than ever. All whites and blues wants a win against a purple, they spaz more and just go all out jeez how do you deal with that?
If my standard are anywhere near correct i might stay purple for more years than i was white and blue combined.

Any tips on what to do or focus on during the duration of this belt is welcome (i am thinking being really proficient with lower body attacks and have really smooth effortless transitions)

Note: I started training end of December 2007 stopped early 2010 because my father died and had to support my siblings and started again December 2013 and been training regularly since.

Hooray! i just got my purple last Nov 24, it was a great feeling but after two weeks i feel more pressure than ever. All whites and blues wants a win against a purple, they spaz more and just go all out jeez how do you deal with that?
If my standard are anywhere near correct i might stay purple for more years than i was white and blue combined.

Any tips on what to do or focus on during the duration of this belt is welcome (i am thinking being really proficient with lower body attacks and have really smooth effortless transitions)

Note: I started training end of December 2007 stopped early 2010 because my father died and had to support my siblings and started again December 2013 and been training regularly since.

That's awesome, and congratulations. I have never achieved a purple in BJJ. I have ranked and competed in other styles. My thing was always to make sure my conditioning was superior to most everyone else's.

You clearly have the skill, guys who don't will sometimes try to compensate with athleticism. This approach can work from time to time. If you have both, I don't think you'll have too much problem dealing with guys who spaz. Good luck to you.