Kickboxing sparring help

Tommyisda1

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi, I just recently started sparring Thai boxing. I find out that I have a hesitation to get into the range where I can land my shots (especially my cross), can anyone help me with this issue? BTW this isn't hard sparring just technical, is it because I am focusing too much on my opponent's arms which creates this hesitation? Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks all.

I'm no expert, and others will be able to give you better advice. But for me partner drilling helped a lot, just getting used to your range and blocking shots that you know are coming (since it's a drill) helps to get you more comfortable in front of your opponent.
Also, try to set you cross up with jabs first and then a one two. This will help you find the range and also test your opponent's reactions.
I also look at my opponent's chest rather than his limbs.
Also, ask you partner to take it easy on you while you get comfortable.

I am currently drilling exercises to get use to absorbing shots and not flinching too much at them is that good for getting rid of the fear of getting hit?

I am currently drilling exercises to get use to absorbing shots and not flinching too much at them is that good for getting rid of the fear of getting hit?
Just drill 20% defense drills whether you go kick for kick with your partner practicing each block with minimal damage for muscle memory.

In sparring if you feel nervous or hesitant because your most likely worried about the counter, then do what I do, take a breath and say fuck it to yourself in your head and just fire it, don't think soo much, you'll freeze up and get picked apart, take calculated fuck it risks while keeping a broken rhythm of jabs, leg kicks and selective shots mixed with bursts. The more you get hit the more you get use to it.

you will take more risks as you get more confident, and you will get more confidence from taking risks.