Look into actual user bases on Steam

I've only been a member since 2008 but I find it telling that even though I have 219 games in my library, I only own 4 out the top 25 games listed in that article. I guess I'm just not a PC player at heart. I just don't mind spending money on hardware. I already knew this though.

As for the 4 games, in order of total hours played...

Left4Dead2 308hr
GTA V 51hr
Skyrim 47hr
Half Life 2 18hr

That's a huge list. I think I've only played maybe 10 games on it and none in the top 10. Skyrim is the first. Then again, I'm new to PC gaming so maybe that's not surprising.

how the hell is Euro Truck Simulator bigger than New Vegas? 5,982,548 vs 5,222,533

This is total unique players. That means if you played a game for 5 minutes you count.

how the hell is Euro Truck Simulator bigger than New Vegas? 5,982,548 vs 5,222,533
This is total unique players. That means if you played a game for 5 minutes you count.
Yeah, these are not peak concurrent or monthly figures, Jefferz. This isn't about playtime, either. This is the overall unique user base for a game's history. That's how Valve has PUBG beat (twice!) on playerbase.

This article is freaking awesome, and the irony is that this loophole likely never would have been found if Valve hadn't dickishly shut down Steam Spy a few months ago because of Facebook's Cambridge Analytica malfeasance. I hope whatever system they're working on really will solve everyone's concerns: business-side and user-side.

I really expected PUBG to be bigger. Fortnite swallows it.

Last edited:
I wonder where DOTA 2 would be. It's never had achievements so it couldn't get tracked.

As someone who plays on steam a lot I can tell you these rankings arent accurate. Ive never seen team fortress as the top played game ever.

Pubg is almost always the most played game at any given time. Team fortress is somewhere in the top 4.

Ark survival Rust and garrys mod are always top 10, ark usually top 5