Losing control when sparring (beginner)

1PBCE1

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I've been training MA for about 8 months now, starting with Kickboxing only but recently adding the Grappling classes my school offers.

My fitness was laughable when starting, so it's not been until recently that I've started full contact sparring.

I've sparred exactly 4 times, the first 3 times with the higher belts from my school. They let me know they hit me, but definitely held back a little while I was finding my stride.

Tonight I sparred with my mate (who is going to be best man at my wedding, to make things worse) who I started MA with, so we're roughly of the same standard technique wise (he's a lot fitter).

He got me with a great punch combo that was hard, but perfectly acceptable for full contact sparring. Having never been hit so hard to the head in such a confrontational situation, I really lost my temper and came back at him trying to hit him much harder. Well I caught him and caused a nasty graze in his nose.

I feel terrible and am wondering (hoping) this is just inexperience and I'll soon learn to control my emotions. As a note my life outside of training is pretty great right now, so it's hopefully just my reaction to getting hit that needs practice.

Thanks for some input!

I asked someone about this and was told that people who are both beginners/very inexperienced probably should not be sparring with each other and in a preferred situation you spar with people that have a greater deal of experience as they will know how to properly react to things just in case the newer guy loses it.

I am pretty sure it's something you begin to get over after awhile as I have noticed the longer I have been practicing the less emotions work their way into sparring sessions and such.

That's my take on it at least.