Mayweather vs McGregor modified MMA/Boxing rules

Cornbread1983

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I'm wondering how a fight in the octagon between these two would look with the following rules in mind?

"4 ounce gloves, no shoes, 5-five minute rounds in 155 division.

No kicks, no take downs, no elbows, no knees. Certain things will be allowed like the clinch."

Joe Rogan thinks Conor will dominate the fight with these rules, that he'll use the clinch to his advantage. How does that work, he can't elbow or throw knees, why would he dominate the clinch game against Floyd?

Take a look-see at Floyd clinching with Cotto.....

Why would Conor fare any better than Cotto in this type of situation?

Has there ever been a thread about this before?

Has there ever been a thread about this before?
Probably, maybe..... my most sincere apologies, I am a newb at navigating this forum.... please feel free to provide me some links that you think are pertinent.

Probably, maybe..... my most sincere apologies, I am a newb at navigating this forum.... please feel free to provide me some links that you think are pertinent.

Wow, 18 months and 8 posts. Guess I’ll let you slide. Generally, this topic is discussed every couple days, you just gotta go down a page or two depending on your settings to find the threads.

Search function also works good.

Can't see how cage boxing works to Conors favour. Mayweather would school him again under such rules if no kicks, takedowns etc

Wow, 18 months and 8 posts. Guess I’ll let you slide. Generally, this topic is discussed every couple days, you just gotta go down a page or two depending on your settings to find the threads.

Search function also works good.
In my defense, I did attempt to search for this specific fight, all I could find was discussions concerning them fight a boxing rematch with boxing rules or them fighting MMA with MMA rules. I didn't see anything that included the parameters set forth in my OP.