My attempts to stimulate glute and hamstring growth

EatMyShorts

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I was advised to make a training log so:

This is my first time hitting Sumo DL's - after some experimentation - at decent weight.

And low bar squats with poor depth, but the best I got cause of my hip flexion.

I'm on a mission to get killer glutes and hamstrings.
The change from high bar to low bar squats was profound.

I also do romanian deadlifts - and was thinking of adding in good mornings but, as you can see, my squats aren't too distant from good mornings so, wondering if there's any point.

Heels only leg press I also do - don't know the weight cause it's on the machine.

I think that's it.
I tried some other women orientated exercises like hip and glute bridges, but hated them.

I was informed that sumo DL's hit the glutes better than hex bar DL's.

Can anyone confirm that for me?

I can't do conventional DL's cause of my poor hip flexion.

Hex / Trap bar DL's will make you more upright on the deadlift so should use more quad than conventional or sumo deadlift.

Sumo will definitely put more stress on your glutes, but so does RDL, SLDL and conventional deadlift. Sumo can protect the lower back, and really hammer your adductors though, so it's all just different tools in a tool box.

Squatting type for hitting the glutes?

I'm doing low bar, cause they suit my frame but, I understand they're better than high bar for glutes.

But - box squats - are they better/worse than low bar for glute activation?

Makes no real difference, low bar with a medium to wide stance would be just as effective as box squats IMO for hypertrophy. You can fuck box squats up by relaxing on the box and reducing total time under tension which is counter productive to growth.

Nice! Digging the log. Now you can document that progress. You have to quit saying you can't do stuff and just start working on doing it.