Need a New Lifting Program

mushishi

A is a, a is a, should I save her?
@Silver
Reaction score
I've been swimming and lifting since June 2018 and it's been great for my health. I lost over 30 lbs and my high blood pressure is back within normal range without taking Losartan.

Here's my program:
squat
bench
incline bench
bent over row
military
deadlift
curl

My noob gains are pretty impressive for me, but now my body is starting to break down. Old nagging injuries from wrestling and judo are popping up, I'm feeling more tired, my sessions are taking about 1.5 hours now, and I need to take 2-4 days off to recover.

I'm thinking about taking a break to possibly get surgery for my shoulder impingement. After that, should I do Stronglifts 5x5 or 5-3-1? I'd like to keep sessions under an hour, preferably 30 min or so. I'd like to get stronger and lift heavier, but I don't want to get back to the point where I'm taking 2-4 days off between lifting. I would like to lift 3-4x a week, so maybe 5-3-1? Any other programs worth doing?

Goal at this stage in my life is to just stay fit; not lifting for any sports. Those days are far behind me.

I've been swimming and lifting since June 2018 and it's been great for my health. I lost over 30 lbs and my high blood pressure is back within normal range without taking Losartan.

Here's my program:
squat
bench
incline bench
bent over row
military
deadlift
curl

My noob gains are pretty impressive for me, but now my body is starting to break down. Old nagging injuries from wrestling and judo are popping up, I'm feeling more tired, my sessions are taking about 1.5 hours now, and I need to take 2-4 days off to recover.