need help change in boxing stance because of injury?

listrahtes

Red Belt
@red
Reaction score
I have an old rotator cuff injury that lets my left arm fatigue much faster than the right arm.
Thats a problem in orthodox as I have a hard time keeping up the volume. Jab / left hook are most used punches by a mile (but I am a beginner so that can all change).

If I stay in orthodox imo I will get problems as soon as I intensify training / sparring more. My idea is if staying in that stance to change to a jab with less output and more faking & power + more straight right. But I like a permanent high volume jab and I dont know if such a fight style is even possible. Kind of maybe just a fishing jab to provoke counters?

With southpaw my idea is that I could keep up the high volume in jabbing / right hook.
Today I did one training session with a lot of footwork and some heavybag only in southpaw.
Right hook was worse than my left but that can be fixed.
Right jab was ok BUT my left straight is complete and utter shit. No power at all behind this punch and I am not sure that can be fixed. I always fought in orthodox even in Karate many years back so I never developed this punch at all. My right arm is better developed in motoric skill.

Movement was strange at first but thats a point I think can be adapted to.

What would you recommend? I cant decide. Will talk about it with my coach but it will also help me a lot to read your opinions because in the end I have to decide.

I train 2x / week with coach and 1/2 times without (not always boxing).

Last edited:
I've blown out both my shoulders due to athletics. Separated clavicle and a rotator cuff injury. Never had surgery. I can now throw both without issue.

Don't be afraid to switch your stance until you've rehabilitated. Now is as good an opportunity as any, as you're somewhat forced into it.