Paulo Miyao's hands

Raksas

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
As a someone who doesn't practice Jiu Jitsu, are severe cases of arthritis like this common in the sport?

hands-of-paulo-miyao.jpg

I've been doing rock climbing and bouldering for almost 10 years now and have seen my fair share of fucked up hands but nothing to the level some Jiu Jitsu practitioners seem to suffer from. These look like the hands of a 90 year old who has been doing construction all his life.

After 10 years or so of pro Bjj, making a fist is the ultimate challenge

IMO most of that looks like the calluses you get from gi grips ... it’s not a joint thing, it’s the pads you get on the back of your fingers where they grind against the gi.

I wouldn't say that hands that bad are common. Most of the people that practice bjj do not put in the hours that the Miyaos do.

After 10 years or so of pro Bjj, making a fist is the ultimate challenge

I'm wondering how guys like the Miyao bros or Keenan can still compete at the highest level with joints that fucked up. Again, I'm a total newb

lol thought this was gonna be a vid of paulo hitting mits

I’m at just a little over 10 years of hobbyist level bjj 99% of the time in the gi. There are days I can barely make a fist. Other hobbyists at my gym don’t have too bad of arthritis but yeah, everyone with 10 years of gi jiu jitsu has pretty bad arthritis. The guys who train 7 to 8+ sessions a week and compete regularly, are even worse off. Almost all of them have to tape up their fingers to roll. I don’t really know how much pain they are in though because they rarely complain, unlike myself and other hobbyists lol.

IMO most of that looks like the calluses you get from gi grips ... it’s not a joint thing, it’s the pads you get on the back of your fingers where they grind against the gi.

Yes gi sucks, noobs exploit the gi instead of learning real technique.