Rival Gloves?

Practical Goat

Knowledge Seeker
@White
Reaction score
Thinking of purchasing a set of Rival gloves.. Seem a good price and a lad at the gym let me use his (RS2V) and they felt good... Was wondering which models are good and shit really.

RB1? RS2? RB11? RF3? etc etc.. lol.

Assuming RB is Rival Bag gloves and RS is Rival Sparring gloves... Does the higher the number mean a better model?

Was thinking of getting the RS2V as a general purpose kinda glove.. Light sparring (i'm only a beginner) and pad work. Are these any good?

Thank you.

I'm from the UK and the RS2V fits my budget of £120. Looked at the BGV9 as well... I'll be buying this week so will shut up with all the glove questions then.

Never used Rival. So honestly I can't give you any feed back on them. The BGV9's are solid gloves so I'm sure Rival with a bigger world profile would make some solid gloves as well.

RB1 are pretty good gloves. If the thumbs were longer, I would have them for bag work. The Freemanfiber syntec leather is imo indestructible. Lots of people are out off by syntec, but personally I don't care too much.

RS2V is a solid glove. Probably my favorite glove.from Rival. Velcro is super sticky as oppose to the RB11 and RS11 model. A bit a pain in the ass to do/undo once the fist glove is on tho. Padding is super protective too. Just don't know how fast the padding will bottom out if you use them mostly on the bag and pads. They have a roomy hand pocket but with wraps, they are comfy. If i were you I would get them. If they are good enough for the pros, they are good enough for us lol

BGV9 ,like I said before, are amazing gloves. But not for sparring.

RB1 are pretty good gloves. If the thumbs were longer, I would have them for bag work. The Freemanfiber syntec leather is imo indestructible. Lots of people are out off by syntec, but personally I don't care too much.