Started my own MMA gym, need help!

Sentinel.MMA

White Belt
Reaction score
To make a long story short, I am a longtime Sherdog poster, I remember reading Galltik's thread about how he started his own gym. I have been training for several years, but hold no rank in any style. I recieved a bb from my former teacher in his "system" but that is kinda bullshit. I always wanted my own place and when my former school closed shop, I decided to try my own "training facility", since I am not qualified to teach anything I envisioned a place where people could come and share knowledge and train. Everyone from our old school said they would join (since we were running the place anyway), and several of my "friends" and brother said they would help out.

We are located near one the biggest military bases in the US and there really isn't any other MMA gym around, so I thought it would be a piece of cake.

I was able to find an old dance studio with about 1300 sq. ft. broken up with an office, entryway, 2 bathrooms and an 800sq ft. studio. It I was able to get a deal for $800/mnth. added phone, internet, utilities, and hvac contract comes out to about $1100/mnth.

We had lots of friends show up for the open house. Mostly friends and their friends. I have about 8 people signed up, but they barely come, and I can't seem to get anyone else to come and try it, even for free.

I have limited money to spend on advertising, so radio is out of the question, I have business cards.

What would you guys do? How did you get people in Galltik?

I will post pics, and maybe I can get a sticky.

You can try putting up flyers everywhere. See how that goes. It wouldn't hurt marketing to schools in the area.

Here is what I started with.

Camera050.jpg

Camera052.jpg

Camera051.jpg

I had the leasing company take down the bars and the mirrors.

I then went to work on equipment.