Striking Study: Videos and details of specific boxing techniques

elwani

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I thought it may be helpful to write some posts laying out details about specific techniques that I've gathered over time and have helped me in sparring (in boxing), both for my own reference and hopefully as a way to learn from others. Please feel welcomed to contribute.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional fighter. I just love the technical art of striking, watching tape, reading anything I can, and trying to figure out the nuances of every strike. Then I try it in sparring and as Bruce Lee said "absorb what is useful, reject what is useless".

COUNTERPUNCH: Slip right and right cross counter to the jab

Outline
  • Examples
  • When to throw it
  • Setup details
  • Footwork details
  • Head movement details
  • Cross details
  • Proactive defense afterwards

Examples

Joe Louis vs Al Ettore rd 4 (stepping in)

Andrew Tabiti VS Thomas Hanshaw rd 2 1:15 (stepping in)

James Toney vs John Ruiz rd 11 1:19 (stepping in)

Sergey Khomitsky vs Adam Etches rd 4 1:28 (stepping back)

Lucas Matthysse vs Mike Dallas Jr rd 1 0:42 (opponent moving to your right with the jab)

When to throw it
  • Opponent is throwing out slow jabs one at a time, like a pawing or lazy jab
    • Opponent is not throwing a quick right after the jab
    • Opponent is not doubling up the jab
  • Opponent is leaving his head up and open after the jab
    • Opponent is not hiding his head with the jab, for example, by ducking his head right
    • Opponent is not bringing his left hand back quickly after the jab, possibly dropping it
  • (optional) Opponent is moving to your right while jabbing
    • Opponent is not moving to your left while jabbing

Setup details
  • You may setup the opponent by slipping right on their jab without countering a few times, lulling them into throwing progressively lazier and lazier jabs

Footwork details