Techniques to use and avoid as a lanky fighter

Individualthoughtpatterns

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Hey,
I've been training MT for about 8 months. I want to fight eventually but so far have only sparred. Im 6'4 170 without cutting (probably can make weight at around 150 or so)
I haven't really seen many fighters this lanky to see ehat kinda works and what doesnt. I know Will Chope was about my size but I cant find many of his fights.

I would assume my best weapons would be to develop a good teep and a good jab, and try to get in the clinch when I can? Uppercuts when they try to rush in?

What do you find works and doesnt work either as a lanky fighter, or a sherter guy vs a lanky guy.

Thanks in advance.

Ya Boy Cody Mac is lanky AF and has a sig submission because of it. Id say (like you) jab and teeps. Knees too. Stay long and fight on the outside. If youre gonna be longer then a lot of guys you get in there with this will more than likely be your game plan...to just chill on the outside and stiff arm and teep away.
oTHI4DS.gif

I will definitely echo @Silver tongue samurai...

Offense
  • You need a solid step jab that you can fire at will. This will help you set up combos, find your range, as well as help you keep your opponent at the distance that allows you to do the best work.
  • Work on your speed as you have the height typical of a heavyweight but in a lower weight class. So you get all the speed advantages that come with having less mass paired with a long reach. You can cause heavier guys who are your height a ton of issues because you have the speed of someone smaller while being able to punch them from the outside.
  • Learn how to catch kicks and sweep.
  • USE YOUR HEIGHT TO YOUR ADVANTAGE...DO NOT TRY TO FIGHT A SMALL MAN’S FIGHT, MAKE THEM FIGHT YOUR FIGHT AT YOUR RANGE AND TEMPO.

Defense
  • Use your knees to punish opponents who try to close distance