The Witcher 2

Dream Evil

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
So I know I'm a few years behind on this, but I just started playing this last month and beat it last night.

All in all, I thought it was incredible. Some incredible world building.....some of the best I've seen outside of Bethesda's TES. I didn't play the first Witcher game, and while I'm sure I missed some detail due to this, I still felt like the game provided enough background that I was able to understand almost everything.

The game had a somewhat steep learning curve, from the combat to navigating the various menus/screens, but once you figured it out the combat was a lot of fun.

My only real complaint about the game was that it seemed a bit short. There were certain aspects of the game I never even got into because I was holding off until later, then lo and behold it was over. For example, I never even used any mutagens, or traps or lures. I was holding out until I found better stuff, but as it turns out I completed the game without ever needing them. Perhaps a second playthrough on a harder difficultly will allow me to explore those things.

Great game overall. I haven't yet moved into the Xbox One/PS4 generation so it will be a while until I can play the 3rd game. Just wanted to see if anyone else was a fan of the series!

It's worth replaying since you can go 2 completely different paths after the 1st act (with the army or with the outcasts). Also fun to try different styles (Magic heavy vs Combat heavy).

Definitely check out Witcher 3 as well. It's such a bigger world, not short, good DLC. One of the best games I've ever played.

If you like the Witcher 2 you'll love 3. It's 4 times as long. Also it continues the story from 2 and your choices carry over.

So I know I'm a few years behind on this, but I just started playing this last month and beat it last night.