Tips for New Fighters Starting Out

Josh Harley

Blue Belt
Professional Fighter
Reaction score
First things first, to fight in any safe organization you are going to have to get medicals done, Usually Hep B/C, HIV as well as an EKG/ECG. Some places require more such as a CT scan and an eye exam.

Get this stuff early on so you aren't struggling to meet the deadline, no promotor likes the guy who can't get the medical stuff done in time.

Train as hard as you can for the fight, Work on your weak areas and really stress your cardio.. You might feel in the greatest shape and think you are a worldbeater, but at the end of the day nerves drain your gas faster and harder than anything else.

As for formulating a game plan, most good camps do this, especially if you have tape on your opponent.. As a beginner I don't honestly know if its always the best idea.. you might think you have your gameplan down to a T. but trust me, game plans go out the window in a quick hurry as soon as you get hammered with a punch or kick. work all areas and just remember anything can happen.

I see guys who are studs in jujitsu get their ass kicked in a fight because trying to apply a sub is far harder when your getting smashed from guard.

Cut out the drinking and the late nights a good month before you fight, watch what you eat, and regulate your weight. the less you have to cut your first few fights, the better you will perform. I know a lot of camps tend to try a practice cut, especially if you are moving down a weightclass or you haven't tried cutting weight before.

Listen to your coaches and follow their direction. they should know your strength's and weaknesses and if they are a good coach they should know you better than you know yourself.

For your first fight or two, try to fight away from home. Not near as much pressure if you don't have your friends and family there. If you win, you can show them the pictures and footage anyways.. the less distraction the better,