~~Training Schedule Question for a busy man

L

LeatherWhip

I have been training for a couple of months now, in Grappling and some Muay Thai at a gym local to me. I work full time an hour from where I live, and typically work about 10 hours a day. With such a busy schedule, I do manage to hit the gym for 2 -3 a week of weights, about an hour, with 15-20 minutes of stretching afterwards, and 1-2 on grappling/MT, probably 90 minutes of one, or the other or both. I am having trouble incorporating cardio such as running or jump roping in the mix.

I have yet to reach that balance, and figure out how to balance all in between. What would be an ideal breakdown of training to balance it all?

Thanks

If you decide to be dedicated you can pull it off: I'd try something like this.

mornings or lunch break:
cardio

at nights after work:
weights TUES (chest:back) /THURS (legs) /SAT (arms:shoulders)
grappling or muay thai mon/wed/friday

When you're doing your thai work, do it in 3 minute rounds with 30 seconds of rest. Keep moving the whole time, when you're not specifically working on a technique you haven't mastered. The best shape I was ever in, the only change I ever made was I added about 5 rounds of shadow boxing. That should be plenty of cardio until your schedule eases up.

I have a similar issue with college but I lift weights and do cardio at home 5 days a week and will start to do submission grappling 2 nights a week for 4 hours total.

I am in the same situation...I am going to attempt to ask for a 3 day work week...we shall see how that boss likes that idea

wake up early, bust out an intense 15 minute cardio session, do stuff like burpees, skip rope, etc.

Seems like you can still keep everything else the way it is, unless you've been lifting in the morning? At which point, do cardio at the end of your session.

As a guy who is working full time myself here is my tips: