What exactly is an oblique kick?

MileHigher

AKA Mile-Hybrid
@Brown
Reaction score
As an admitted MMA novice I'm confused on what an oblique kick technically is. A friend was telling me that the opponent's actual obliques are the targeted area of the kick. If im not mistaken, the obliques are located where the leg meets the abdomen and considered part of the torso area more so than leg. That doesn't seem like a logical technique to me, especially considering the "oblique kicks" I've seen are clearly leg kicks. When I hear the term I think of Jon Jones kicking the knee area, hence the debate on whether or not it's a dirty tactic. Can someone clear this up for me? There doesn't seem to be a clear answer available anywhere else.

*If this is the wrong forum for this question I apologize. Wasn't 100 percent sure where to post itm

those two kicks to the body are oblique kicks aswell as the jones kick. I'm not sure why they are called that.

As an admitted MMA novice I'm confused on what an oblique kick technically is. A friend was telling me that the opponent's actual obliques are the targeted area of the kick. If im not mistaken, the obliques are located where the leg meets the abdomen and considered part of the torso area more so than leg. That doesn't seem like a logical technique to me, especially considering the "oblique kicks" I've seen are clearly leg kicks. When I hear the term I think of Jon Jones kicking the knee area, hence the debate on whether or not it's a dirty tactic. Can someone clear this up for me? There doesn't seem to be a clear answer available anywhere else.

*If this is the wrong forum for this question I apologize. Wasn't 100 percent sure where to post itm