What's your honest reaction to drilling or sparring with a woman?

beat...people...up?

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
-If she's experienced and capable?
-If she's less experienced but not a total spaz?
-If she's smaller than you?
-If she's a total newb spaz?

Anecdotes welcome. I'm curious.

As a smaller person I prefer women over the mostly huge people who I try my best to avoid

I don't like it. I'm too big for them. Feel weird about using much effort or force.

my goal against experienced women is to gas them out. just keep moving and moving and moving. i often gas in the process but its a good challenge. i dont really grind or hold positions. i try speed passes, inverted guards and attacks etc. i dont give them anything but i dont muscle out of anything either. i get caught sometimes. shit happens, they are good.

I hate to say it, but I find it one of the most unenjoyable things. I've mostly faced inexperienced, and even trying to go my lightest I always feel like I'm crushing them.

Ive rolled with a few blue belts that didnt change too much, still felt like they were more fragile.

The only exception is one purple belt I know, she is military and tough, and I feel like I'm rolling with any guy ive ever rolled with and it makes me happy to have one good experience with a woman.

The two clubs I train at are quite small, so I dont have the greatest number of female training partners

There are some good, competitive women on my team. A black belt, three purples. They're legit. I don't go full strength, and it can get you into trouble.

I try to play a very fluid game with the women at our gym. There are none higher than blue, but a few of them are very tough / strong. Usually I have them working on something, so I'll hit that move on them over and over so they get a feel for how it should work or how it can happen from different positions.

With new women, I make sure they are comfortable with the positions and proximity.