Why do they say boxing has a clinch when everything about it is illegal (holding, punching, etc)

spacetime

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm new at boxing so you will have to bare with me here....

• You can't hold your opponent and hit him at the same time,
And systematic holding is illegal as well and results in disqualification if you go by the book.

Given all of this, why do people still talk as if there is a boxing clinch, and even compares it with a Muay Thai clinch, when it's really only a by-product and not in the scoring system?

Last edited:
Yeah clinching/holding is technically illegal but is tolerated for the most part. Even in the days of ol' Jack Johnson, they were holding nonstop. They're more strict in the amateur system though and are more likely to take points/DQ.

Not sure what you mean by comparing boxing clinch to MT clinch. Boxing clinch is mainly used to pause a fight or to stop counter attacks if used wisely (ex. Mayweather).

I think you mean inside fighting? That's the one I mostly see compared to MT clinch.

Not sure what you mean by comparing boxing clinch to MT clinch. Boxing clinch is mainly used to pause a fight or to stop counter attacks if used wisely (ex. Mayweather).

They compare dirty boxing as a clinch to a Muay Thai clinch. Btw, why do some referees allow fighters to box their way out of a clinch when punching in a clinch is illegal? Is it legal for the guy who is being held to punch the other guy??

lmao there are refs like Kenny Gutless shouting stop before they even hold each other.

They're suppose to box their way out but they always just clinch and hug each other so the ref breaks them up. But Kenny is just..on a whole nother level.

lmao there are refs like Kenny Gutless shouting stop before they even hold each other.

They're suppose to box their way out but they always just clinch and hug each other so the ref breaks them up. But Kenny is just..on a whole nother level.