Wrestling and boxing vs thai and bjj help me choose please?

assDefect20

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Noob here, want to train for self defense. Read that these pairs go well together. Which one should I choose? I am 6'7 and 225, and even though I have long limbs, couldnt really call myself lanky. My upper body is stronger than lower. I would guess that my reach would be a bigger plus in thai, and smaller minus in bjj.I have gone on practice sessions in all, and my estimation of my talent/competitiveness is this (could be an illusion):wrestling,boxing,bjj,thai,which is strange. Also,wherever I look, wrestling and boxing seem to be cheaper,and on my thai practice session "coach" tried to teach me kickboxing kick.

Also,its likely that I wont have time in first 6 months to train both,so in general what should I start first,grappling or striking?

Thanks in advance.

Dude you're already a 6'7 alpha. Why the fuck do you need to learn how to fight. The pecking order is already established.

There are sub-forums just for these questions... why not wrestling and muay thai? or boxing and bjj?

Thanks for the compliment, but my life experience taught me harshly that I cant ever rest on my laurels.I have never gotten into a fight,but you never know, it only takes one drunk idiot to start something, and I want to have something that I can rely on to escape without injuries.

Sumo will make you unbeatable. At 6'7 you can just slap fools back and push them off the curb

I dont know,I guess boxing punches are paired well with pressure of wrestling takedowns, and maybe thai clinch can be used to get down to bjj.