your thoughts on 10th planet

tekkenfan

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
back in the day people use to dis on eddie due to him not having any students o fighters to prove his stuff worked at a decent level back in 2008 as a early blue i thought it looked cool and i studied it for a few months but i could never pull off any subs against good guys with rubber so i abandoned it and felt it wasnt good against guys with sound fundamentals

fast forward to today it seems alot more people are getting into it and eddies very much respected he has a few students that are top level guys

which tbh surprised me since there are so many amazing gyms in the us today that eddies gym is that good he has a big school but still do you think its due to his innovative techniques or just teaching ability

I think I'm excited about training there in a week.

Overall, it didn't have the MMA implications I think he thought it would (not yet anyway) but I think it helped break the dogmatic hold that gracie jiu jitsu had on sub grappling and open up the game a bit. I think the leg lock revolution (and its acceptance) owes a small nod to eddie.

I think that main focus of 10th planet failed. And that's impact on MMA. But overall it's very good BJJ style!

10th Planet is cool. I think they get a lot less shit than they used to get. I think the EBI thing has been great for them, and the transition away from focusing on MMA to sub-only. I think there are a few substantial reasons why they are less successful than their Renzo Gracie rivals. But looking outside of competition I think 10th Planet seems like a pretty fun organization with a pretty good community. I don't know how many people worldwide in their affiliation share the flat earth and conspiracy views. Some of that stuff I'm not a huge fan of. But every 10p guy/gal I've trained with has been really cool. Eddie Bravo has put in a lot of effort to make it a successful organization and he's earned all of the success he has.