Why is Academic Writing So *Needlessly *Ridiculous?

So im in my second year of university as a mature student and we have a week break from school, which most people use to catch up on reading. This week i decided to catch up on and also read in advance for one of my courses and it occurred to me that a lot of academic writing is just so needlessly complex in how it's written.

Take this little excerpt taken from the Atlantic expressing this very idea:

https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2015/10/complex-academic-writing/412255/

giphy.gif

Like why has polluting your message with language so beyond recognition that no one can understand it become the standard? It's not even for any purpose other than to impress other intellectually snooty von snootersons, It doesn't help anyone to write like that. Worse yet is that it plagues the social sciences WAY more than anything else which is so cringy as they try to sound like real scientists.

It's a dick measuring contest, that's all it is.

I have read countless pages of this type of bullshit and I want to go into my Profs office and fill the room with uppercuts.

Anyone else agree with this assessment?

As a Uni student myself right now, I'd say maybe you're just dumb?
Or rather possess low to average intelligence to fully comprehend and appreciate a very nicely written piece.
And would rather have elementary level reading to be in line with your very simple mind. If you want that then higher education isn't your thing. Academics on this level is written by intellects and you are expected to be on their level to the least.

And I bet you hate writing and would rather do typing. And rather read selective stuff material on line than read the "boring" textbooks.
Another indication of low intellect because writing is a bigger reflection of intellect than typing and copy pasting stuff you found on the internet written by someone else.