Serious Philosophy Discussion

I'd be surprised if everyone didn't say stupid things, we are only human after all. Philosophy is not dead, but it branched from philosophy into two:

The study and discussion of reality as informed by every means necessary.

And

Historical philosophy fan discussion untethered from reality.

There are people who study philosophy now, metaphysics and the like who don't have any understanding or interest in science. It was never supposed to be an art but that's largely what it's become. People who are unqualified to wax lyrical on the matter regurgitating lines from men long dead who's suppositions were based on long eclipsed understand of reality.

I am a beginner in the realm of philosophy but let me point out to you that ancient philosophy ie Aristotle, was the father and inventor of physics and the study of the physical world. Unless you are talking about the presocratics then there is no such thing as philosophy divorced from science in the sense you state it.

Reality as subjectively perceived by individuals? Or some universal objective reality? If the later, how is it discovered?

Objective reality as it is more true for more people, subjective reality is only really relevant to the subject and their therapist.

What do you mean, where do they fit?

Of course, everything is probabilities, we use the most effective model until it's superseded by something more accurate.

Math is not a real thing though. Take the values of quantity for example. What is the quantity of this forum or earth? It depends on what you are looking for. Math switches with our attention. As William James said

• Every way of classifying a thing is but a way of handling it for some particular purpose.

so what number are you? one. you may be part of a family. maybe a party of 5. if you are american you are 1 of 300 million. depends on the purpose.