Why don't bodybuilders just do full body routines?

Sandow-4-683x1024.jpg

https://youtube.com/shorts/Ez3tpc9Ujs4?feature=share

Do you disagree with Mike Mentzer's assertion that one set is ideal?

Respect to Mentzer/Yates/etc. And I’m no expert, but it seems “one set” is just another way of saying “ramp sets going to failure on the last set”. That is, you’re getting plenty of volume in the routine. They just frame it in a way to suggest that the last set is the only one that matters.

Edit: and just as an example, linked below is Dorian's routine. On chest day, for example, he does 6 different chest exercises, for 3x10-12 on each exercise. That's roughly 200 reps for chest in a single workout, in a routine that is based on the philosophy that volume is meaningless.

https://jackedgorilla.com/dorian-yates-workout-routine/

Last edited:
Isn't Full-Body very slow-twitch and more endurance? You guys talk about farm boy strength, but I've done farm work and other manual labor and I felt that it gave me a lot of functional endurance but not much size and strength. The same thing happens when I do volume training. Powerlifting and HIT have been the only things that have worked for me.

I'm naturally pretty fast twitch.

Respect to Mentzer/Yates/etc. And I’m no expert, but it seems “one set” is just another way of saying “ramp sets going to failure on the last set”. That is, you’re getting plenty of volume in the routine. They just frame it in a way to suggest that the last set is the only one that matters.

Edit: and just as an example, linked below is Dorian's routine. On chest day, for example, he does 6 different chest exercises, for 3x10-12 on each exercise. That's roughly 200 reps for chest in a single workout, in a routine that is based on the philosophy that volume is meaningless.

Yates did a shit load of gear. Mentzer said that you can't train high volume unless you are on gear. Yates added exercises that would target different parts of the muscle.