Taekwondo in MMA (from a blackbelt)

ceezsb

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I know its been discussed a 100 times but I keep seeing some misconceptions about TKD. (like in the TKD vs Muay Thai flamefest) Ive been practicing TKD for 11 years and have lately transitioned into muay thai so I thought I'd clarify some things.

Firstoff, there are 2 versions of TKD: ITF and WTF style. In the discussion they are almost always lumped into 1 but they are so different from each other that they should be seen as 2 different sports.

WTF is the version you see in the olympics, with the large body protectors and hands at their waste: YouTube - Tae Kwon Do fight in Korea
It was developed with the intent to turn taekwondo into more of a sport instead of a martial art to get it accepted in to the olympics.
Personally I feel WTF is more a 'game' then 'fighting' now. Its just fencing with legs. I have no doubt its still a great sport to compete in, but I cant imagine it having any use in 'real' fighting.

If we discuss the use of TKD in the cage or ring we should talk about ITF Taekwondo

ITF Taekwondo is the original martial art.
Competition looks like this: YouTube - Andrey Pasechnyk ITF-EURO 2007 Slovakia

As you can see, it looks a lot more like 'real' fighting. However sparring is still confined to a strict set of rules:
- No takedowns of any kind
- No holding of limbs, head, neck or body allowed
- No legkicks
- No knees
- No kicks or punches to the back
- No heavy contact (all techniques should be applied with restraint)
- No hooks (only straight punches)

On top of that, kicks are awarded more points then punches.

As a result of these rules, what works on the TKD mat, does not nessecerily work outside of the TKD mat.
The truth is that TKD style of fighting just falls apart as soon as these rules are not present (AKA in a muay thai match, boxing match, mma match, street fight, etc.)