Belt dilemma - What would you do?

Oldguy

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
I am looking for advice. I am 61 years old. I started training back in 1993. In total, with layoffs, I have trained about 20 years. I am very fit. I love BJJ. But, I don't consider myself gifted or even good for that matter.

I recently moved and want to start training again. I went to a trial class this morning. The instructor asked me what my belt level is. I couldn't lie. I told him black belt. I got my belt at Gracie Barra. They essentially give belts out for time is service. This new place looks at belts WAY differently. They don't give them out like candy. Blue belts are good. The purple belts are absolute beasts. A black belt is unicorn level rare.

Here is my problem. He told me to wear my black belt. I asked him if I could just roll for a few months and they could give me the belt according to my skill level (probably purple). I don't want to be the new guy with a freaking black belt that everyone looks at, chuckles and says "no way" to themselves. Out of 20 guys on the mat this morning, there wasn't one black belt besides the instructor.

I guess I have to not train there if that is the case. It is a shame. It seems like a great school.

What would you do?

If you like the school and the vibe, just do it bro. At your age, folks will cut you slack and no one will sweat you as long as you're humble and respectful. And as long as you've trained, you WILL have tricks and shortcuts to share with the younger guys.

I know BB has special significance, but our gym had a mid 50's brown who came in out of shape, was gassing out during warm ups and getting pieced up by tougher blue belts. We also had an out of practice, 30-something BB who was competitive with most of our purples. But both guys were respectful, didn't try to pull rank on anyone and it was a non issue.

Last edited: