Does anyone do reverse hypers?

HatchetHarry

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I’ve never used a reverse hyper before. No gyms around me have one so I can’t just go out and try it. How do you program them and do you think they have helped your squat or deadlift? I have heard some people say they are dangerous pseudoscience while others swear by them.

I do both Reverse Hypers (technically you can do them over a high table if there's a counter weight) and Back Extensions.

I use both as a way to get some volume/assistance for my lower back. I would say neither is ''dangerous'', they're both great exercises that I combined with my lower body work. The truth lies somewhere in between, it's not dangerous and it's not a magic exercise either.

If you do any variations of Squats (Box, Front, Regular) and Deadlifts (Sumo, Trap, Regular) coupled with Back Extensions and/or Reverse Hypers + abdominal work (AB Roller + Weighted Planks are great) you're pretty much golden for all athletic purposes regarding lower body strength.

they’re not dangerous at all, quite the opposite

they’re not dangerous at all, quite the opposite

Some people claim otherwise and there isn’t a lot of evidence to support the claims of Louie from Westside. The guys from Westside are obviously doing something right though and are strong as hell regardless of drugs/gear. I just cleared some space in my garage gym and have room for one and am debating between one and the rogue echo bike. Not sure what I want.

Some people claim otherwise and there isn’t a lot of evidence to support the claims of Louie from Westside. The guys from Westside are obviously doing something right though and are strong as hell regardless of drugs/gear. I just cleared some space in my garage gym and have room for one and am debating between one and the rogue echo bike. Not sure what I want.
Get a glute ham developer instead. All the benefits of traction without worrying about injury.