Ever freeze up in competition?

mcgoatp4p#1

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Im getting the urge to start competing again after abstaining for a couple years. Every time I've completed at blue belt, whenever I got into a bad position or a move didn't go like I planned I'd panic and freeze up, then things would go downhill from there and I'd just be on the defensive for the rest of the match.

I think it's related to my general anxiety but I'm not really sure

Sounds like you just need to compete, and then compete some more, maybe have some simulated matches with treammates at your gym, what you are describing is just the nature of the beast

I build it up too much in my mind before BJJ tournaments and have trouble sleeping the last week before big events. Once the matches start it all goes away though.

If it makes you that anxious and you don't enjoy it why do you want to do it? This is a sincere question.

I'm a hobbyist and rarely compete. When I think about how much bjj competitions are sometimes I think it is just not worth it. I'd rather spend my Saturday training in the morning and then go out to dinner with the competition money most of the time.

Im getting the urge to start competing again after abstaining for a couple years. Every time I've completed at blue belt, whenever I got into a bad position or a move didn't go like I planned I'd panic and freeze up, then things would go downhill from there and I'd just be on the defensive for the rest of the match.

I think it's related to my general anxiety but I'm not really sure

It’s happened to everyone. You just need to compete more. You’te going to get into bad positions, but experience will help you deal with it.

One time I was warming up in the bullpen. As I looked up Paulo Miyao and I made eye contact. He was taking deep breaths and rubbing his chest. He looked pretty nervous. And he competes all the time.

We all get nervous. Just try to enjoy the moment and show off your skills.