Gardening & Yard Work

PurpleStorm

purp
Staff member
Senior Moderator
Reaction score
Hey folks.

What are you gardeners doing this spring? Planting anything special? Trying anything new?

I'm still new to gardening. Had some success last year and I know it can be even better this year. So I'm trying starter kits indoors that I'm getting going now. Then when it's warmer I'll move them outside into a couple of raised beds. Got seeds for lettuce, kale, beets, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, rosemary and parsley. I love fresh food from an organic garden. We'll see how it goes.

Gardening tips, photos and encouragement are greatly appreciated.

I have been wanting to bulldoze the garden in my side yard. Or maybe I could just plant some flowers or something. It came with the house, and I am not a gardener. It now just fills with weeds each summer.

Skip the Rosemary as it's got a low germination rate and takes a long time to get where you want it. Buy a plant. Theyre all over when the season gets goin. Do a little research maybe cause there's different varieties. Do Basil instead.

Don't start carrots inside as they don't transplant well. Start em outside after frost. Sprinkle the bed with seeds and thin them out as they get crowded. You'll have baby carrots all the time. You can do this in a pot inside early if you have the space and harvest till its all gone as they grow and also do it outside when the season starts.

Beets you can do that way also but they do transplant well. You'd have baby beets and beet greens as you weed out the best beet plants you want. If you start em inside you can do them singly or try 2 or 3 together sometimes in one cell. Do it on a bunch of farms I work at this way.

Umm what else hmm...

Actually if you got some kinda protection/row cover you can start those outside before last frost. Just cover them at nite.

Lettuce and Kale good to go whenever.