@purple
Reaction score
eUWIsbISk0vg2uTKX6Zp1Iou7TO.jpg

Notable wins over:

- Heath Herring
- Minowaman
- Phil Baroni 2x
- Robbie Lawler

Almost 11 years that we lost a great fighter. Looking back at his career, how good was Tanner?

Pretty damn legit and a tough match-up for anyone around that time.

I was always a fan of his.

VERY VERY good for his time. Wouldnt be top 10 in todays MMA. Thats how it is for most vets though. Good fighter and an even better dude. It sucked watching him try to make a comeback and get slept so bad lol. RIP Tanner!

He was better than Phil Baroni. But not as good as Rich Franklin.

Sad story.

For a guy who learn MMA via video and training in his garage....he was pretty damn good.

He basically taught himself MMA. Dude was great considering his circumstances.

Yea, in the Gholar fight he was basically a self-taught guy who trained by himself in his garage.

This was before the days of Clay Guida, when fighters were still fighting for peanuts.

He was great for the era and the limited training he had.

However, knocking out Terrell fucked him up. It gave him too much confidence in his standup and it cost him in his fights against Franklin and Loiseau. He should have stuck to his grappling and ground game. instead he stood and traded with both of them.

When you have 21 submission wins, sometimes its best to focus on what you are best at.

He was great for the era and the limited training he had.

However, knocking out Terrell fucked him up. It gave him too much confidence in his standup and it cost him in his fights against Franklin and Loiseau. He should have stuck to his grappling and ground game. instead he stood and traded with both of them.

When you have 21 submission wins, sometimes its best to focus on what you are best at.
and the reason he was able to tag Terrell was the threat of the takedown...

and the reason he was able to tag Terrell was the threat of the takedown...