Karo vs Sokoudjou Judo Match - Questions for Judo Enthusiasts

dsdoubled

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Many years ago I read an interview with Karo Parisyan in Ultimate Grappling Magazine where he was asked about his Judo career and his match with Sokoudjou came up. I believe this was right around the time Sokoudjou had KO'd Lil Nog in Pride so he had some buzz. Karo mentioned that Sokoudjou was "bizarrely strong. Like, bizarrely strong..." but Karo was able to defeat him with technique. Now I am not a judo expert but I enjoy the sport. To me the match looks to be a stalemate until Karo basically shoots a single leg and wins the match.

Is this the type of attack that is now banned in judo competition? Also, I noticed Karo still made an effort to land Sokoudjou on his back. Was this so he could win the match by ippon or were they in some sort of overtime? And finally, what do you make of the relatively skill level of each guy here? How high level were they?

This attack is now banned, any standing leg contact with hands results in a shido (penalty).

I am not sure if this is in overtime or not. However, it doesn't look like it is, before 2017, you could win a fight with shidos without a score.

As for their skill level.. probably not very high. Being from Gokor's academy or not, I don't believe he has had a lot of international success (like USA in general, with some exceptions).

and African judo... lol

I mean, there are not many countries who can compare with France/Russia/Japan and South Korea in Judo, so it isn't too bad to not be at their level.

Is this the type of attack that is now banned in judo competition? Also, I noticed Karo still made an effort to land Sokoudjou on his back. Was this so he could win the match by ippon or were they in some sort of overtime? And finally, what do you make of the relatively skill level of each guy here? How high level were they?

Yes, illegal now. For ippon.