Weightlifting increases my evening appetite to the point of not being worth it.

Ice That Jaw

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
I recently started weightlifting to help lose 20lb so I can be lean like I was in my teens. For a few months, I've doing solely elliptical training but it is getting rather boring so I bought some extensible dumbells and an adjustable bench.

The problem is, the second I started lifting, my appetite has skyrocketed in the evening and nighttime. Before, I could get by just with dinner bit now, I'm eating bagels and cream cheese, eggs in a basket, granola and milk, straight cheddar cheese, and whatever else I have laying around.

This is the exact reason why I was weary about lifting again. The last time I did it, I gained about 15lbs in 4 months. That's great for skinny dudes, but not for me.

How can one lose weight and still weight lift? Should I just force myself to eat veggie at night? Or maybe step up the reps to 20-30 so I burn more calories?

Doing heavy lifting will make you hungry any time of day. I does not matter the type of weights. You can be doing heavy construction, or lugging buckets of paint up stairs, you be hungry. Why so many of construction workers have huge bellies. After work they pig out and chug beer.

Any time I get back in to lifting I experience a huge hunger increase. But what runs parallel to this, is it feels like my testosterone fires up. Feels pretty great.

I think as long as you're not pigging out on shite, it's not too bad. I'll snack on nuts or a small can of tuna or something with little carbs.

Well yeah, if you just binge on crap then you won't do well.

Eat a whole foods diet of primarily vegetables and adequate protein, starch, and fat. Eat some carbs before and after your workout. Fruit, oatmeal, something satiating. A lot of people say don't eat carbs, but lifting goes a lot better without it and your blood sugar won't crash afterwards. Blood sugar crashes harm willpower and cause binges.