DOOM is 30 Years Old Today

Law Talkin’ Guy

The Worm
@Gold
Reaction score
Thought it was worth giving some recognition to what I consider the most important game to me on a personal level. The original DOOM wasn’t the first game I’d ever played, as I had been playing NES and Atari games since the late 1980s, but I still remember the first time I ever played Doom when I was about 9 years old and it blew me away like no game ever before or since. It introduced me (like so many others) to what eventually became known as the FPS genre which was so much more exciting and immersive in my opinion than any other genre of video game, and for 30 years has remained my favourite genre of video games.

My family didn’t have a PC capable of running Doom until Christmas 1995, but throughout 1994 I would play it at various friends’ houses that did have it. Most of my friends only had the Shareware version which contained the first episode, Knee Deep in the Dead, which I must have played through dozens and dozens of times. My oldest brother who’s 12 years older than me came home for the summer of 1995 to stay with our family while doing a summer job in town and he brought his 486 PC which had Doom 1 and 2 on it, and I would sneak on and play it at every opportunity. He also had several WADs (the predecessors to mods) for it that he downloaded off of BBSs using a 14.4kb modem. My favourite was the Aliens total conversion, but there were so many including ones for Beavis and Butthead or Star Wars and Star Trek. Those were the days…