Should California begin worrying about an earthquake?

breadfighter

Toiling in underground sugar caves
@purple
Reaction score
I know it's stupid not to be prepared and that we should be worried about the constant threat of a quake, but i've never been in an Earthquake so I don't really have a perspective of the magnitude of damage it could cause. But I just saw a clip of entire building caving in on itself in the 7.1 that just hit Mexico. I don't really know the science behind earthquakes, but does a huge quake in Mexico infer that one is going to hit California?

Now I know buildings here are made to withstand quakes but what if it's super powerful? Will my roof cave in and kill me? Should I start hoarding weapons, water, and food? I'm ready to resort to cannibalism.

Can someone knowledgeable explain to me what the worst case scenario is we're dealing with here?

Fuck you i'm no earthquake expert.

Last edited:
Nothing would thrill me more than to see your bones crushed on the floor and I hope there's an earthquake. Nothing could say goodbye now I can't sleep unless you die girl. I hope there's an earthquake and the roof falls on your head.

does a huge quake in Mexico infer that one is going to hit California?

Lots of potential for quakes in California bro. There are a lot of faults in the area. Now that Trump's started global warming again you'll prob start getting some major quakes soon

Lots of potential for quakes in California bro. There are a lot of faults in the area. Now that Trump's started global warming again you'll prob start getting some major quakes soon

I understand that, but does a 7.1 hitting Mexico increase the likelihood of it triggering one in California? It only seems like the logical progression right? You're asian, you should know these things.