Why I Quit BJJ

Ko Soto Gari

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Preface: I've been training MA for over 10 years. I started BJJ in 2004. I've done and seen a lot.

I can't stand the people who train BJJ. I don't have an IQ under 40, I don't have tattoos, I don't act like a wannabe tough guy, I don't wear tapout or any aggressive looking shirts, I don't say 'Bro' every other word. When I go to a BJJ class pretty much everyone ignores me. I don't look or act like them, so I'm an afterthought. When we get to rolling and they get dominated I am all of a sudden their 'Bro'. Superficial nitwits. After they realize I am good they ask me when I want to fight. I tell them I have no intention of doing MMA or grappling tournaments. They get a puzzled look on their face and walk away. I overhear them talking about MMA. "BRO! Grey Maynard has some SERIOUS hands! BRO, look out for him!". One of them says to me "BRO, did you see TJ Grant's fight?" "No, I didn't" "BRO, he can throw DOWN". Such cheesy and exaggerated commentary from fools who have never heard of Kazushi Sakuraba.

I've quit BJJ because I can't stand the morons who train it. This type of idiot doesn't do Judo or other Martial Arts. If I can't have fun with my training partners the training itself is no longer appealing.

Sounds like you're training at the wrong school, bro.

It sounds like you just need to find a gym that is a better fit for you. Some gyms are more MMA oriented, and that attracts a different demographic than gyms that are more focused on either self defense (e.g., Torrance academy) or IBJJF competition (e.g., Atos, MG's gym, Cobrinha's gym, etc.) In my experience, the latter gyms attract a lot of very intelligent people with a true passion for the art of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

Where do you train??

In SoCal most of the guys do not at all resemble your "standard bjj guy" that your promoting..